Dad Raises LS Awareness

In an effort to raise awareness for Lowe Syndrome, I participated in my company’s Give2Gether campaign. American Express has the campaign every October in which AMEX matches every dollar donated by an employee to a charity. I actively sought out the lady in charge of the campaign for my building and asked how I can best get the word out for Lowe Syndrome. She asked me to write a summary of why I give to the Lowe Syndrome Association…which I gladly accepted.

The result? My story got published on our AMEX internal web site’s main page and a poster was put up in our building. We have roughly 3,000 employees in my building alone and over 7,000 employees in Arizona! The day it got posted, I received several emails from my colleagues indicating they were pledging money to the LSA. Even if only a small percentage of people actually read it, at least those people now know what Lowe Syndrome is…so I’m happy about that. All-in-all, I think it was a success. Below is my posting:

Why I Give

I received some pretty incredible responses to this from my co-workers. Here are some of them:

” Glad to see your keeping an upbeat look on things. Thanks for sharing your experience and letting people know about Lowe Syndrome. Wish I could say I understand what you’re going through, but I can’t. I can say you are doing more than most. Keep it up.”

” Amazing, beautiful story Adam. Extremely touching. Thank you so much for sharing.”

“Thank you for sharing your story on why you give. It was incredibly inspiring to me!”

“Mason is absolutely adorable! Your ‘Why I Give’ story was very touching. I donate to an organization that is very close to my heart, also. After reading your story, I was encouraged to add a one-time donation to the Lowe Syndrome Association as well. What a great way to build awareness and make a difference; thanks for sharing.”

Posted on 10/18/2011, in Giving. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.